Send Money from the UK to Jamaica
Fees and exchange-rate margins from the UK to Jamaica vary widely. Compare what your recipient actually receives, not the advertised fee.
What does your recipient in Jamaica actually get?
Best checked payout · on £1,000JMD 204,284
At the mid-market rate · £1,000JMD 211,218.26
Western Union · fee varies · checked October 2026
1 GBP = 211.2183 JMD
30-day range209 – 211 JMD
Every provider pays your recipient less than the benchmark. The gap is the rate margin, and it is usually larger than the transfer fee. How the margin worksGBP→JMD reference rate for Oct 18, 2026, updated automatically · Rates By Exchange Rate API · 30-day series: Exchange Rate API (daily series)
Compare 8 ways to send money to Jamaica
Checked recipient amounts cover 2 of 8 providers here, collected from the Wise Comparison API — which quotes its own operator among them. The rest show each provider's published terms, and are ordered by payout coverage rather than by amount.
| Provider | Recipient getsby bank transfer | vs mid-market, exchange-rate markup against the reference rate stated below this table | What it costs | Arrives | Payout | Open provider |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
MG Most ways to receive The only service here that names a debit card as a payout destination in Jamaica | Check provider | — | £2.49standard fee at £100Rate not published — confirm before sending | Varies | Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup, Card payout | Go to MoneyGram |
![]() Fastest delivery The largest agent network of the services here, for a recipient who wants cash rather than a bank credit | JMD 204,284 | 2.5% | £2.99bank transfer at 1000 GBP2.45% rate margin, measured | Minutes | Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup | Go to Western Union |
![]() Best for cash pickup Competitive rates for bank deposit and cash pickup with flexible speed options | Check provider | — | £1.99standard fee at 1,000 GBPRate not published — confirm before sending | Minutes to days | Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup | Go to Remitly |
![]() A first transfer, where the fee is waived and the rate is the promotional one | Check provider | — | From £100.00Rate not published — confirm before sending | Varies | Payout methods: Bank deposit, Card payout | Go to Ria Money Transfer |
![]() A published fee and a published rate on the same screen, before any sign-up | Check provider | — | £1.99bank and cash pickupRate not published — confirm before sending | Varies | Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup | Go to Sendwave |
![]() Airtime top-up, which is the one receive method the provider names for Jamaica on its own page | Check provider | — | VariesRate not published — confirm before sending | Varies | Payout methods: Mobile wallet, Airtime top-up | Go to WorldRemit |
![]() The mid-market rate with the fee shown as a separate line — though on this corridor that fee is several times Wise's usual level, and the payout currency is not settled | JMD 199,118 | benchmark | £52.02payout currency unconfirmed0.00% rate margin, measured | Days | Payout methods: Bank deposit | Go to Wise |
![]() A recipient who would rather hold US dollars than Jamaican dollars | Check provider | — | From $0.00Rate not published — confirm before sending | Varies | Check provider | Go to Taptap Send |
- MGMost ways to receive
The only service here that names a debit card as a payout destination in Jamaica
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- Check provider
- vs mid-market
- —
- Cost
- £2.49standard fee at £100Rate not published — confirm before sending
- Arrives
- Varies
- Payout
- Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup, Card payout
Fastest deliveryThe largest agent network of the services here, for a recipient who wants cash rather than a bank credit
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- JMD 204,284
- vs mid-market
- 2.5%
- Cost
- £2.99bank transfer at 1000 GBP2.45% rate margin, measured
- Arrives
- Minutes
- Payout
- Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup
Best for cash pickupCompetitive rates for bank deposit and cash pickup with flexible speed options
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- Check provider
- vs mid-market
- —
- Cost
- £1.99standard fee at 1,000 GBPRate not published — confirm before sending
- Arrives
- Minutes to days
- Payout
- Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup
A first transfer, where the fee is waived and the rate is the promotional one
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- Check provider
- vs mid-market
- —
- Cost
- From £100.00Rate not published — confirm before sending
- Arrives
- Varies
- Payout
- Payout methods: Bank deposit, Card payout
A published fee and a published rate on the same screen, before any sign-up
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- Check provider
- vs mid-market
- —
- Cost
- £1.99bank and cash pickupRate not published — confirm before sending
- Arrives
- Varies
- Payout
- Payout methods: Bank deposit, Cash pickup
Airtime top-up, which is the one receive method the provider names for Jamaica on its own page
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- Check provider
- vs mid-market
- —
- Cost
- VariesRate not published — confirm before sending
- Arrives
- Varies
- Payout
- Payout methods: Mobile wallet, Airtime top-up
The mid-market rate with the fee shown as a separate line — though on this corridor that fee is several times Wise's usual level, and the payout currency is not settled
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- JMD 199,118
- vs mid-market
- benchmark
- Cost
- £52.02payout currency unconfirmed0.00% rate margin, measured
- Arrives
- Days
- Payout
- Payout methods: Bank deposit
A recipient who would rather hold US dollars than Jamaican dollars
- Recipient gets (bank transfer)
- Check provider
- vs mid-market
- —
- Cost
- From $0.00Rate not published — confirm before sending
- Arrives
- Varies
- Payout
- Check provider
What it costs has two parts: the advertised fee, and the exchange-rate margin kept by paying your recipient less than the mid-market rate. The margin is usually the larger, and is never labelled as a fee. Figures are each provider’s published terms, plus bank-transfer quotes from the Wise Comparison API, a source operated by a company this site also ranks — open a provider for a live quote. Recipient amounts are shown only for the providers we hold a checked figure for, which is some of those listed here rather than all of them.
Too few checked amounts on this corridor to rank by money, so the order is payout coverage, delivery speed and published fees — a provider with a checked figure is not placed above one without. Affiliate arrangements never affect this order.
- Most ways to receive — Supports the most payout types on this corridor.
- Fastest delivery — Quotes the fastest delivery tier published on this corridor. Where several providers quote it, the one with the widest payout coverage among them carries the badge, and the others are named alongside it.
- Best for cash pickup — Offers cash pickup, with the widest payout coverage among those that do.
Where two providers tie, the one supporting more payout types is listed first, then the faster one, then alphabetically. A label is left unawarded whenever the data we hold cannot support it — we would rather show fewer claims than invented ones. We hold a checked amount for too few of the providers here to call any of them best on it, so no Best value is named — naming one would rank a field too small to be a comparison. The amounts we do hold are still shown. Those amounts cover some of the providers listed, not all of them, and the set is chosen by the source that supplies them rather than by us. Full methodology
What these figures are
- What the recipient gets
- Collected from the Wise Comparison API at a send amount of £1,000, October 2026. These price a bank transfer. Cash pickup and mobile wallets are priced differently and are not covered by these figures. Not a live quote — rates move daily.
- Markup against mid-market
- Measured against the row the Wise Comparison API flagged as being at the mid-market rate — Wise’s, October 2026. That is a provider listed in this table, which is why it is named, and why its own row shows no markup figure.
- Fees
- As each provider publishes them, September 2026. A provider that does not publish a fee for this corridor shows none rather than a guess.
- Payout methods, delivery speed, promotions
- Read from each provider’s own pages for this corridor. Where a provider’s own sources disagree, the disagreement is printed rather than resolved.
Independent — providers cannot pay for placement or ranking · Consistent — every checked amount measured on the same corridor at the same send amount, and any fee quoted on a different basis says so on its own row · Transparent — the advertised fee kept separate from the rate margin
Quick verdict: the best way to send money to Jamaica
Each line names the provider that leads on one specific need, and why. There is no single winner because there is no single question — the lowest fee and the fastest delivery are rarely the same provider.
- If you are not sure how they will collect itMGMoneyGramMost ways to receivePays out 3 ways — bank deposit, cash pickup, card payout.
- If it needs to arrive todayWestern UnionFastest delivery
Not stated on the corridor page - If they will collect it in cashRemitlyBest for cash pickup
Cash Pickup
Chosen by the same rules that order the table, from each provider’s published terms. A need with no clear leader is left out rather than handed to whoever happens to be first.
How much you send changes which provider is cheapest
A transfer costs two things: a fee you can see, and a cut of the exchange rate you cannot. They scale in opposite directions, so the best provider for £200 to Jamaica is often not the best provider for £5,000.
Western Union is the cheapest of the providers priced here at every amount from £100 to £2,500 — this is one of the corridors where the answer does not change with the amount.
| You send | Cheapest | All-in cost | Of the transfer |
|---|---|---|---|
| £100 | Western Union | £5.92 | 5.92% |
| £250 | Western Union | £9.07 | 3.63% |
| £500 | Western Union | £15.14 | 3.03% |
| £1,000 | Western Union | £27.29 | 2.73% |
| £2,500 | Western Union | £63.74 | 2.55% |
Every row was priced separately at that amount — the fee and the rate margin in each are the ones that applied to a transfer of that size, not one measurement stretched across the range. Cost is the fee plus the margin, for a bank transfer, across the 2 providers priced here; other providers on this corridor may be cheaper and are not priced this way. The margins were measured by Wise’s comparison service, not stated by the providers themselves, and Wise is a provider this site ranks. Checked October 2026. Cash pickup and mobile wallet payouts are priced differently and are not what this compares.
The flat fee is most of what you pay
On a small transfer a £5 fee is a real percentage of the money. A rate margin of half a percent on £200 is one dollar — small enough to ignore. Sort by the fee and take the lowest one you trust.
The exchange rate is most of what you pay
The fee stops mattering and the rate takes over. Half a percent on £5,000 is £25 — five times a typical fee, and no provider calls it a charge. A zero-fee offer on a large transfer is the one most worth checking.
GBP to JMD at common amounts
| You send | Mid-market value | Load into calculator |
|---|---|---|
| £100.00 | JMD 21,122 | |
| £250.00 | JMD 52,805 | |
| £500.00 | JMD 105,609 | |
| £1,000 | JMD 211,218 | |
| £2,500 | JMD 528,046 | |
| £5,000 | JMD 1,056,091 |
Pick a row to load that amount into the calculator at the top of the page. These are mid-market values, not provider quotes — every service pays your recipient somewhat less, so use them as the figure to measure an offer against.
What is the cheapest way to send money to Jamaica?
Two providers publish the lowest fee on this corridor: Remitly at 1.99 (standard fee at 1,000 GBP) and Sendwave at 1.99 (bank and cash pickup). The figures are the same; the conditions attached to them are not, so read what each one applies to before treating them as equivalent. Lowest fee is not the same as cheapest — the exchange rate a provider gives you can cost more than the fee it charges — so treat this as one of two numbers, not the answer.
Next lowest published fees:
- Sendwave1.99 (bank and cash pickup)

- MGMoneyGram2.49 (standard fee at £100)
- Western Union2.99 (bank transfer at 1000 GBP)

- Wise52.02 (payout currency unconfirmed)

Fees as published by each provider on their own site, checked by hand.
What is the fastest way to send money to Jamaica?
Western Union quotes the fastest delivery on this corridor at minutes. Published speeds describe the fastest route a provider offers, not every route: paying by card and sending to a wallet is usually near-instant, while a bank transfer funded by direct debit takes longer whoever you send with.
Jamaica at a glance
- Currency
- JMD · Jamaican dollar
- Payout methods
- Bank deposit · Cash pickup · Mobile wallet · Card payout
- Typical delivery
- Minutes to days
- Cash pickup
- Available from 4 of 8 providers
- Western Union and Sendwave advertise no transfer fee here — the cost sits in the exchange rate instead.
- 1 of the 8 providers can deliver within minutes, including Western Union.
- Cash pickup is available from 4 of the 8 providers, including Remitly, Western Union and MoneyGram — no bank account needed.
Before you send to Jamaica
- Treat the Wise row on this page with care. Wise's support centre does not list this destination among the countries it can send to, and answers that gap directly: a recipient in a country off the list can be reached "if their account is denominated in USD, EUR or GBP". Wise's marketing page for this same corridor says the opposite — that the recipient is paid in local currency from a Wise local bank account — but that sentence is templated and appears word for word on destinations that are on the list and destinations that are not. The pricing points the same way as the support centre: across the corridors on this site the median Wise fee is about 1 percent of the amount sent where the currency is on its supported list, against about 4.5 percent where it is missing. The figure shown here is real; what is not settled is whether the money can arrive as local currency. Confirm that with Wise before relying on it.
- Jamaica took US$1.78 billion in remittances in the first half of 2026, up 4.2% year over year. The Jamaican dollar has held fairly steady rather than sliding — it traded around J$157 to the US dollar in early 2026, actually stronger than the 2025 average of J$159.83, and the Bank of Jamaica has been managing foreign-exchange market conditions rather than letting the rate swing freely, so this corridor has not seen the currency volatility some of its regional peers have.
What it costs to send money to Jamaica
Sending money from the UK to Jamaica converts pound sterlings (GBP) into Jamaican dollars (JMD). Most of the real cost is not the headline fee — it is the exchange-rate margin, the gap between your quoted rate and the mid-market rate banks use between themselves. Two providers can both advertise "no fees" and still differ by several percent on what actually arrives.
Cash pickup dominates in Jamaica, and some providers let recipients collect in either Jamaican or US dollars.
That is why the comparison above leads with how your recipient can be paid rather than with a headline price: match the service to how they actually want the money, then check the final quote.
How to choose the right provider
Compare the amount received, not the fee
Enter the same amount with two or three providers and compare what your recipient in Jamaica actually receives in Jamaican dollars. That one number folds the fee and the rate margin together.
Match the payout method to your recipient
In Jamaica the common rails are cash pickup and bank deposit. A slightly pricier provider paying into the wallet or account they already use beats a cheaper one that means a trip to an agent.
Pay more for speed only when you need it
Western Union can deliver within minutes, but express usually costs more in fee or margin. If it is not urgent, the economy option on the same platform is often meaningfully cheaper.
Check cash pickup coverage before you send
4 providers offer cash pickup in Jamaica, including Remitly, Western Union and MoneyGram. Check the specific branch is open and stocked before sending, especially outside major cities.
Verify the provider is licensed
Any service moving money out of the UK should be registered with the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA). Everyone we list is — worth checking for any service you find elsewhere.
Sending airtime to Jamaica
Airtime top-up loads phone credit straight onto a number in Jamaica. It is not money: the recipient cannot withdraw it or spend it anywhere else, and it reaches one phone rather than a bank account or a wallet. It tends to be the right answer when the amount is small and what is actually needed is a working phone — not a substitute for the transfers compared above.
On this corridor the research records WorldRemit as publishing an airtime top-up service alongside the money transfers in the table.
- WorldRemitTop up a phone with WorldRemit
This site does not compare airtime prices. What it records is which providers on this corridor publish the service — the amount, the exchange rate and any fee are set by the provider at checkout, and are not measured here the way transfer costs above are. Using a link costs you nothing and never affects what we rank or write.
Frequently Asked Questions
Sending to Jamaica from somewhere else
All routes to Jamaica →Other corridors from the UK
Before you send
Ready to compare your transfer?
See rates, fees and delivery options for 8 services side by side.


